Walks & Trails

Myrtleford, Walks & Trails

Nestled in the Ovens Valley with Mount Buffalo providing a dramatic backdrop, the walks in and around Myrtleford are stunning! Take a wander through history or tackle the challenge of Reform Hill (the view is a worthy reward!). Browse the regions Walks and Trails Guide  for more information....

Reform Hill

The Reform Hill lookout provides visitors with views of the Ovens Valley, Mount Buffalo and the Victorian Alps. There are three different tracks around the hill with significant monuments along the way.

Reform Hill Monument Track

1.6km, 1 hour return

No bushwalking experience required. Formed track with some obstacles, short steep hills and occasional steps. Sign posted.

The return walk to the lookout begins at the J.A. Jones Memorial Reserve on the eastern edge of town adjacent to the Murray to Mountains Rail Trail. Nearby, Paul’s Gold Battery stands adjacent to several gold mining adits (tunnels) into Reform Hill. Ascend the Reform Hill Monument Track to the T-intersection then turn left to visit the Hume & Hovell Memorial. From here it is possible to take two different routes to the lookout, both approximately equal in distance. A large loop can be formed by combining all three tracks. The Reform Hill lookout provides visitors with views of the Ovens Valley, Mount Buffalo and the Victorian Alps. Crops of hops, vineyards and pasture give the valley its patchwork appearance.

Myrtleford Historic Walk

1.8km, 45mins

No bushwalking experience required. Township walk.

This walk highlights the significant historical aspects of Myrtleford and will take you around the town discovering what once was a thriving gold mining town. The following are the stops on the Historic Walk:

- The Old School Museum. The Frank Vale Tablet: In recognition of his untiring efforts for State School 955 (1890-1910) a tablet was unveiled to honour the Head Teacher Frank Vale in November, 1924. The Bills Horse Trough: This trough stood on the roadside opposite where the RSL Hall stands in Smith Street, to service horses in coach and transport work. Annis and George Bills had several horse troughs built and installed around Melbourne about the time George retired in 1908. The RSPCA made George a Life Governor in 1924 and after his death in 1927 the residue of his estate was left for providing horse troughs and for prevention of cruelty to animals.
- The Linden Tree, Albert Street. The Linden (Lime) tree has been on this site since the 1860s, when it was visible in photographs of the original “Myrtle Creek Store”. It saw the demolition of this old store and the erection of “Thomas Mathieson’s Store”, which still stands today.
- The Uniting Church (formerly Methodist). A memorial window honouring the loss of four cousins, two Matthews and two Willoughby men in World War 1 (Greater Love hath no Man…..) dominates the entrance to the church; nearby a plaque commemorates the new church building in 1958.
- The A.D. Lowerson V.C. Memorial Square
- The Fire Brigade Training Track (see plaque)
- The Post Office. Opened in 1971, this is Myrtleford’s third post office on this site
- St Paul’s Anglican Church & Rectory Fence. A stained glass window at the front of the church commemorates the death of Theatre Nursing Sister Alice O’Donnell who lost her life on the Hospital Ship “Centaur” when it was torpedoed by a Japanese submarine off Brisbane on May 14, 1943. To record Myrtleford’s 100th anniversary in 1954, the Anglican parish joined in celebrations by erecting a stone fence which included a marble stone recognising the event.
- The CWA Hall (now Presbyterian Church). The CWA was at the forefront of rural women’s affairs and played a vital role in developing facilities for infant welfare in the town. For 33 years, until 1959 the Infant Welfare services of the town were provided through the CWA Hall.
- The Lone Pine (see plaque)
- The Former Myrtleford Co-Store. After five years in Robertson street, the Co-Store established itself on this site in 1927, selling groceries, hardware and clothing.
- Soldier’s Memorial Hall & Supper Rooms. After World War 1, the hall was erected after much local fundraising in 1925. In 1936, extensions, a stage, and supper rooms were added.
- The Big Tree. One of the oldest in the district, this tree is said to have been the meeting place of aborigines prior to contact with Europeans and for a short time after 1837. The other “big tree” on the corner of Myrtle and Prince Streets enabled men and women to assemble separately under trees which were in close proximity to one another.
- Senior Citizens Centre (see plaque)
- Memorial Park (two brass plaques sit under the elm trees at the southern end of the oval)
- Cundy Park (see plaque)

 

Discovery Trail

0.5km/30mins return

No bushwalking experience required. Township walk.

The Myrtleford Discovery Trail is a series of panels, sharing every aspect of Myrtleford life via maps, photographs, touring suggestions, things to see and do and lively tales tall and true.

The trail begins at the Visitor Information Centre on the Great Alpine Road, look out for the tall stainless steel panels.

The panels are titled:

- Walking Tracks
- Reform Hill State Forest
- Sergeant Albert David Lowerson VC
- Myrtleford War Memorial, Australia remembers
- Hops – The Key Flavour of Beer
- Tobacco – Myrtleford’s Golden Leaf
- Our Place – A Festival of Events
- Adventure Out– Take a Walk or Ride a Bike
- Significant People and Places
- The Beginning of a Township
- A Community rising to the Challenge
- Throughout history, and into the Future
- Explore and Experience
- The Centre of it All
- Abundant Produce and Cool Climate Wines
- The Great Alpine Road
- Lake Buffalo
- Mount Buffalo National Park

Murray to Mountains Rail Trail

No bushwalking experience required. Well-formed, flat track with no steps. Clearly sign posted.

The Murray to Mountains Rail Trail runs through Myrtleford in the 80 kilometres between Bright and Wangaratta. The Trail is perfect for all, being mainly flat and allowing visitors to choose their distance. Facilities are located at varying points along the track.

Ovens River Loop

5.6km, 1 hour return

No bushwalking experience required. Sealed, flat track with no steps. Clearly sign posted.

This scenic sealed loop can be started from within the Myrtleford township or be included as an addition to the Murray to Mountains Rail Trail. The main portion of the loop runs from Rotary Park to Apex Park and follows the Ovens River closely as it passes through native bush and crosses the river twice. There are several good locations for a riverside picnic and the trail is perfect for warmer weather with good shade along the river section of the loop.

Reform Hill Lookout Track

1.1km, 1 hour return

No bushwalking experience required. Formed track with some obstacles, short steep hills and occasional steps. Sign posted.

After leaving the Memorial, this walk takes you to the north above the Reform Mine entrance. Along this walk you will see the town’s old water storage basin (1934) which has long since been replaced. This small reservoir held water that was gravity-fed into town.

The climb follows the drier northerly aspect of Reform Hill to the lookout. You will come across the following landmarks:

Hume and Hovell Monument (erected 1924 to celebrate 100 years of exploration)
Reform Mine main shaft and ventilation shaft
Original Myrtleford Reservoir Reform Hill Lookout